Skip to content

So This is What Hell is Like: May 9, 2011 —– Day 1

May 10, 2011

Airports: were hours pass and people waste away. I previously didn’t hate airports, but the five hour layover in Chicago is worse than I could have ever imagined. The rest of the day has gone without a stint though:

Kristy and I managed to navigate the airport and get my luggage checked. She said goodbye to me at security and I had my first experience with the new x-ray scanning machines. I kept repeating what Cameron told me the night before (something along the lines of, “take deep breaths and remember you’re scrappy”) like a mantra as I hunted for my gate.

Six of the others in my group found me and we flew the short flight to Chicago where I finished the first of only two books I brought for the trip. Ironically enough this is the first trip where I didn’t bring at least four books and I’ve already finished one. We had poor service at an overly priced Macaroni Grill and began our wait to begin our sitting. Stephen joined me on my search for Chicago postcards and an interesting magazine to read when I’m going insane during the flight.

I somehow managed to survive the rest of the wait by texting people and just staring off at nothing. We boarded the huge plane and I was informed that in roughly seven hours, I’d be off this flying prison tube. I think my exhaustion has made me more snarky than usual.

No comments yet

Leave a comment